Worthd cost check for trades shops

1099-NEC filing cost: what a shop paying subcontractors pays per form

Three filing services priced from their own pages for a shop with 1 to 10 subcontractors: Tax1099, Track1099 by Avalara and TaxBandits. The cost per form, what mailing the recipient copy adds, the 2026 threshold change, and the Monday, February 1, 2027 deadline.

Prices checked Nov 7, 2026Reviewed by Worthd EditorialUS dollarsUpdated Nov 7, 2026
The short answer

Filing 1099-NECs for 5 subcontractors costs $23.00 to $24.70 if you mail each copy, or $15.50 to $17.45 if you email them. TaxBandits is lowest with mailed copies; Track1099 is lowest with emailed copies.

Per form that is $2.75 to $3.10 to e-file, plus $1.84 to $1.95 to mail the recipient copy or $0 to $0.50 to deliver it electronically. The bill is small. The things that change it are the other half of the story: the reporting threshold rose to $2,000 for 2026 payments, so some subs you paid $600 to $1,999 last year need no form this year, and the filing deadline is Monday, February 1, 2027.

What each service charges

Per-form prices, 15 or fewer forms

Per-form 1099-NEC filing prices by service
ServiceE-file one 1099-NECRecipient copy by postal mailRecipient copy by e-deliveryTIN matchFee for Jan 27-31 mailing
Tax1099 Essential$2.99 (1-20 forms); $2.59 (21-150)$1.95$0.50$1.00Not stated on the page
Track1099 by Avalara$3.10 (1-15 forms); $2.30 (16-165)$1.84 (Jan-Apr)Included$0.45Mailing is $2.89 if requested Jan 27-31
TaxBandits$2.75 (first 10 forms); $1.75 (11-100)$1.85$0.50$0.35Not stated on the page

Prices from each service's own pricing page, read Nov 7, 2026. Tax1099 and TaxBandits show no separate subscription fee on the pages read; Tax1099 Teams ($249 a year) and Scale ($349 a year) are paid plans for larger volumes. TaxBandits TIN match is $0.35 a form. State filing is extra: Track1099 $1.49 a form, TaxBandits $0.95 for direct state filing (combined federal and state filing is free at TaxBandits).

The total bill

E-file plus the recipient copy, for 1 to 10 subcontractors

Total cost to file and deliver 1099-NEC forms by number of subcontractors
SubcontractorsTax1099: mailed / emailedTrack1099: mailed / emailedTaxBandits: mailed / emailed
1$4.94 / $3.49$4.94 / $3.10$4.60 / $3.25
3$14.82 / $10.47$14.82 / $9.30$13.80 / $9.75
5$24.70 / $17.45$24.70 / $15.50$23.00 / $16.25
10$49.40 / $34.90$49.40 / $31.00$46.00 / $32.50

Worthd arithmetic: e-file price x forms, plus either the postal mail price x forms ("mailed") or the e-delivery price x forms ("emailed"; $0 at Track1099). Totals stay within each service's first pricing tier (10 forms or fewer), so they hold for 1 to 10 subs. Tax1099 and Track1099 cost the same $4.94 per mailed form at this size. Mailing in the last week of January costs more at Track1099 ($2.89 a form instead of $1.84). Before state filing, TIN matching and sales tax. Recipients must agree to electronic delivery before you email their copy; ask in writing.

The 2026 change

$2,000, not $600

For payments made after December 31, 2025, the 1099-NEC and 1099-MISC reporting threshold is $2,000, up from $600, under section 70433 of Public Law 119-21. It is indexed for inflation after 2026. Treasury proposed a rule to implement it on April 17, 2026 (Federal Register 2026-07519). It is still a proposed rule; Worthd found no final rule on Nov 7, 2026. State rules can differ from the federal threshold. Check your state before you skip a form.

The date

Monday, February 1, 2027

January 31, 2027 is a Sunday, so the deadline to file 1099-NEC with the IRS and to give the recipient their copy moves to Monday, February 1, 2027. Mailing late in January costs more at Track1099, and a mailed copy has to leave early enough to arrive. Collect a W-9 from every sub before you pay them, not in January.

Who it fits

You pay subs from the bank, by check or through a bill-pay tool and run no payroll: a pay-per-form service is the cheapest route. You have under 20 subs: every price above holds. You want TIN matching: TaxBandits is $0.35 a form, Track1099 $0.45, Tax1099 $1.00.

Who does not need this

Shops already on a payroll or bill-pay tool that files 1099s. Gusto's Contractor Only plan lists "Form 1099 creation and filings" (Gusto pricing, read Nov 1, 2026), and QuickBooks Payroll and BILL also file them. BILL charges $2.99 a form plus $1.99 for mailing (Worthd read Oct 25, 2026). Check what your current tool already includes before you pay again.

Frequently asked

1099-NEC filing questions

How much does it cost to file a 1099-NEC for subcontractors?

From the vendors' own pages on Nov 7, 2026: e-filing is $2.99 a form at Tax1099 (1 to 20 forms), $3.10 at Track1099 by Avalara (1 to 15) and $2.75 at TaxBandits (first 10). Sending the recipient copy by postal mail adds $1.95 (Tax1099), $1.84 (Track1099) or $1.85 (TaxBandits). For 5 subcontractors that is $23.00 to $24.70 with mailed copies, or $15.50 to $17.45 with emailed copies. Track1099 includes e-delivery; Tax1099 and TaxBandits charge $0.50 a form.

What is the 1099-NEC threshold for 2026?

$2,000 for payments made after December 31, 2025, up from $600, under section 70433 of Public Law 119-21 (the One Big Beautiful Bill Act). The amount is indexed for inflation after 2026. Treasury proposed a rule to implement it on April 17, 2026 (Federal Register document 2026-07519). Worthd found no final rule on Nov 7, 2026.

When are 1099-NECs due for 2026 payments?

January 31, 2027 is a Sunday, so the deadline to file with the IRS and to furnish the recipient copy moves to Monday, February 1, 2027.

Which 1099 filing service is cheapest for a small shop?

At 1 to 10 forms with mailed copies, TaxBandits is lowest at $4.60 a form, then Tax1099 and Track1099 tied at $4.94. With emailed copies, Track1099 is lowest at $3.10 a form because e-delivery is included, then TaxBandits at $3.25 and Tax1099 at $3.49. These are list prices before state filing and TIN matching.

Do I need a separate 1099 filing service?

Not always. Gusto's Contractor Only plan lists 'Form 1099 creation and filings' (Gusto pricing page, read Nov 1, 2026), and QuickBooks Payroll and BILL also file 1099s. A separate service is for shops that pay subcontractors from the bank, by check or through a bill-pay tool and do not run payroll.

Affiliate disclosure: the Tax1099 button may earn Worthd a commission if you sign up. Track1099 and TaxBandits links are plain, unpaid links; Worthd has no referral arrangement with them. It does not change the prices or the totals above. How we earn.