Worthd card-fee check for trades shops

Can you pass card fees to your customers?

A 3 to 15 person HVAC, plumbing or electrical shop paying about 2.9% on every card payment. Four tools say they can add a surcharge for you. Here is what each one really does, where it stops working, and what is left after the vendor's own cut.

Vendor pages checked Oct 8 and 9, 2026Reviewed by Worthd EditorialUS rules
The short answer

Housecall Pro is the only one of the four field-service tools with a built-in surcharge, and it keeps 0.50% of every surcharged payment. Jobber has no setting at all.

Housecall Pro caps the surcharge at 3% and lets you turn it on in invoice settings. Jobber's Product Team says it has no automated way to add one. Square and QuickBooks can add a surcharge, but only on some payment types: Square on its point of sale and web invoices, QuickBooks on online invoices only. All four exclude debit cards, and none work in Connecticut, Maine or Massachusetts.

Side by side

What each tool does with a card surcharge

QuestionHousecall ProJobberSquareQuickBooks Payments
Built-in surcharge?Yes: Settings, Invoice settings, Credit Card SurchargingNo setting. A Jobber Product Team reply (about a year old) says it has no automated way to add oneYes, in open beta, US sellersYes, rolling out. If you do not see it, QuickBooks has not turned it on for you yet
Cap3% maximum; lower state caps applied automaticallyn/a3% of the transaction; cannot exceed your cost of acceptanceFixed rate you cannot change, not stated on the page; Oklahoma and Colorado cap at 2%
Where it worksCustomer portal and web, mobile, card on file, service plans, booking deposits, in-person card entryn/aSquare POS and Square Invoices on the webOnline invoice payments, including recurring invoices
Where it does notApple Pay and Google Pay are turned off while surcharging is on; not applied to ACH, PayPal, cash or checkn/aNot on Square Appointments, Kiosk, Virtual Terminal or Website; no partial payments or mobile invoice paymentsNot in-person or manual payments; Apple Pay, Amex and Discover blocked on surcharged invoices
Vendor's cut0.50% fee on surcharged credit card transactionsn/aNone listed on the help articleNot stated
States closedCT, ME, MA, NY, Canadan/aCT, ME, MA, PR; extra rules in CA, CO, FL, KS, NY, OK, TXCT, ME, MA, PR
Debit and prepaidNever surchargedn/aCredit onlyNever surcharged

Plain-language summary of each vendor's help article as fetched Oct 8 and 9, 2026; the vendor's current page controls. Plan availability for Housecall Pro's setting is not stated on its article. Square's feature is described as in open beta.

What it nets

$10,000 a month on cards, worked out

Worthd arithmetic from published rates, not vendor figures. Assumes every dollar is a credit card payment in a state that allows surcharging:

ShopWhat happensPer month
Housecall Pro, 3% surchargeCustomers pay up to $300 extra. Housecall Pro keeps 0.50% of surcharged volumeAbout $250 kept (the page does not say if 0.50% applies to the payment or to the surcharge)
Jobber, no surchargeMove payers to bank transfer: 1% instead of 2.9% + 30 cents$500 invoice: $5.00 instead of $14.80, so $9.80 saved each time

Real recovery is lower: debit and prepaid cards cannot be surcharged, and some customers will pay by ACH or check instead. Jobber's rates are from its pricing page (card 2.9% + 30 cents, ACH 1%, checked Oct 9).

The card network rules

What Visa says you must do first

  • In the US the surcharge cannot exceed your cost of acceptance and is never more than 3% on Visa.
  • Debit and prepaid cards cannot be surcharged.
  • Tell your payment processor at least 30 days before you start.
  • Disclose it where the customer enters or agrees to pay, and show it as its own line on the receipt.

Mastercard has its own cap and says it is updating its rules, so Worthd does not state a number for it. Check Mastercard's current page before you set a rate.

Who this is wrong for

If most of your customers pay by check or bank transfer, or you work in Connecticut, Maine or Massachusetts, a surcharge will not help. If you already built the fee into your prices, adding one on top can lose jobs against quotes without it.

Sources

Vendor pages checked Oct 8 and 9, 2026

Surcharge rules change often: check the vendor's current page and your state's law before you act. This is not legal advice. Report a correction.

Your crew size and card volume: run the Worthd cost calculator for a yearly total.
Want a heads-up when terms or prices change? Use the monthly Worthd Briefing signup at the bottom of this page.
How Worthd compares: Product fit, cost, setup work, and clear reasons to rule out an option shape the recommendation. Some links may earn Worthd a commission. Rankings are not for sale.