The short answerA solo inspector pays about $870 to $1,308 a year for report software, depending on tool and volume. A three-inspector firm pays $2,160 to $3,684 a year on Tap Inspect or Spectora.
At 10 inspections a month, ISN's $7.25 an inspection comes to $870 a year, Tap Inspect pay-as-you-go $900, HomeGauge $1,068, Tap Inspect Unlimited $1,080 and Spectora $1,090 billed annually ($1,308 monthly). Past about 12 inspections a month Tap Inspect Unlimited ($90) beats paying per job. Horizon, from Carson Dunlop, closes on December 15, 2026, so Horizon shops have to choose within weeks.
What each tool chargesPublished prices, read Nov 7, 2026
Home inspection software prices by vendor| Tool | Price as printed | Extra inspector | Trial | Contract and cancel |
|---|
| Spectora | $109 a month ($1,308 over 12 months) or $1,090 a year. Optional Advanced add-on $4 per inspection | $99 a month or $999 a year per additional team member | 2 free inspections, no time limit, no card | 'No hidden fees, no contracts'; cancellation notice not published |
|---|
| HomeGauge | $89 a month after a 30-day free trial | Not published | 30 days; card requirement not published | Not published (terms not read) |
|---|
| Tap Inspect | Unlimited $90 a month, or pay as you go $7.50 a job (blocks of 20 for $150) | Team plan: $90 a month plus $45 per inspector | First 5 inspections free | No long-term contracts; no refunds on prepaid jobs or unused subscription time |
|---|
| Inspection Support Network (ISN) | $7.25 per inspection for the first 50 a month, $5.50 for 51-100, $3.75 for 101-150; 151+ contact sales. Monthly minimum may apply after the trial | Not published | 30 days, no payment details needed | No contract or set duration; export your data before cancelling |
|---|
Each vendor's own pricing page, read Nov 7, 2026 (Spectora, HomeGauge, Tap Inspect, ISN). ISN's tier prices were confirmed on the rendered page (the page text drops the decimal point). Not published: ISN's monthly minimum, HomeGauge's extra-user price, and every vendor's card processing rate. Spectora also sells websites ($699 a year or $69 a month plus a $499 setup fee, base tier).
The yearly billSolo inspector, 12 months, by inspections a month
Yearly cost for a solo inspector by volume| Inspections a month | Spectora annual | HomeGauge | Tap Inspect Unlimited | Tap Inspect pay as you go | ISN |
|---|
| 10 | $1,090 | $1,068 | $1,080 | $900 | $870 |
|---|
| 20 | $1,090 | $1,068 | $1,080 | $1,800 | $1,740 |
|---|
| 30 | $1,090 | $1,068 | $1,080 | $2,700 | $2,610 |
|---|
| 60 | $1,090 | $1,068 | $1,080 | $5,400 | $5,010 |
|---|
Worthd arithmetic from the prices above. Tap Inspect pay as you go is $7.50 x jobs x 12. ISN is $7.25 x inspections x 12 for volumes up to 50 a month; at 60 a month the first 50 cost $362.50 and the next 10 cost $55, so $417.50 a month. Spectora's monthly plan is $1,308 a year. ISN's possible monthly minimum is not included because the page does not state it. Break-even: Tap Inspect Unlimited ($90) costs less than pay-as-you-go from the 13th job a month, and less than ISN from the 13th inspection ($94.25).
A 3-inspector firm$180 to $307 a month
Spectora is $109 plus $99 for each additional team member: $307 a month for three, or $3,088 a year ($1,090 + 2 x $999). Tap Inspect Team is $90 plus $45 per inspector: $180 if the base plan covers the first inspector, $225 if all three are added, so ask which. HomeGauge and ISN do not print an extra-user price.
If you are on HorizonDec 15, 2026 is the hard date
Carson Dunlop's page says Horizon is "sunsetting on December 15, 2026" and that export tools are available through that date; it recommends Spectora. Spectora's own migration FAQ says Spectora pays Carson Dunlop a one-time administrative fee to offset transition costs, so weigh that recommendation accordingly. Spectora's Horizon page offers 50% off: $55 a month for 6 months (regular $109), so $330 for the first 6 months, or $545 for the first year instead of $1,090. Standard pricing applies after, and the offer expires January 31, 2027. Export your reports and templates before the 15th whichever tool you pick.
Who each one is wrong forWhere each price can mislead you
Spectora costs the most at low volume, and its $99 a month per extra inspector is the highest team price of the four. Tap Inspect pay as you go costs more than Unlimited above 12 jobs a month. ISN looks cheapest at 10 inspections a month, but the page says monthly minimum fees may apply and does not give the amount. HomeGauge prints almost nothing about terms, extra users or cancellation. Its pricing page also sells Spectora, so check which product you are buying.
Next stepPrice the rest of the business
Report software is one line. Scheduling, payments and bookkeeping add more, and card fees are usually larger than the software: see contractor payment software fees, free vs paid software for a small shop, what it costs to leave field service software, and the Worthd price tracker. The cost calculator prices Jobber, Housecall Pro and Tradify, not inspection tools.
Worthd has no referral arrangement with any of these four vendors and earns nothing if you buy them. How Worthd earns.
Frequently askedHome inspection software questions
How much does home inspection software cost per month?
Spectora lists $109 a month or $1,090 a year, HomeGauge $89 a month after a 30-day trial, Tap Inspect $90 a month for unlimited jobs or $7.50 a job, and Inspection Support Network $7.25 an inspection for the first 50 each month. Prices read Nov 7, 2026.
When does Horizon inspection software shut down?
Carson Dunlop says Horizon is sunsetting on December 15, 2026, and that export tools are available through that date. Its page names Spectora as the recommended platform.
Is there a discount for Horizon users switching to Spectora?
Spectora's Horizon migration page offers 50% off: $55 a month for 6 months (regular $109) or $545 for the first year (regular $1,090), with free data migration. The offer expires January 31, 2027 and standard pricing applies after.
Which is cheapest for an inspector doing 10 inspections a month?
On printed prices, Inspection Support Network at about $72.50 a month (10 x $7.25) is lowest, then Tap Inspect pay-as-you-go at $75, HomeGauge at $89, Tap Inspect Unlimited at $90 and Spectora at $109 monthly or about $91 billed annually. ISN may add a monthly minimum after its 30-day trial that its page does not state.
Do these tools lock you into a contract?
Spectora, Tap Inspect and ISN each say no contracts. Tap Inspect says it does not refund prepaid jobs or unused subscription time. HomeGauge's refund policy and terms were not read.
SourcesPages read Nov 7, 2026
Vendor prices are US list prices; the vendor's checkout or written quote controls. Report a correction.